Published July 4, 2012 by BabaKush

To all my American friends, Happy Independence Day! I happen to be visiting my gramma in Ohio (and we finally have power, so thanks for everyone who was concerned about that), so we get to celebrate with lots of flag waving and firework watching (and gramma’s famous potato salad and BBQ ribs!)

I’ve missed other Fourths of July other years while we were traveling, so this is kind of fun for me. But we have celebrated Independence Day in other countries before, and that’s cool, too. Like, just north of us, in Canada, they celebrate Canada Day on July 1. That’s when they celebrate their independence from Great Britain. And to the south, Mexico celebrates their independence from the Colonial Spanish government on September 16 (not Cinco de Mayo, like a lot of people think.)  There’s also Itsenäisyyspäivä in Finland (December 6), National Day in Greece (March 25), Gwangbokjeol in Korea (August 15), and Márciusi ifjak in Hungary (March 15), to name a few.

However and whenever you celebrate, I hope this day is a happy one for you!

Cheers!

(Photo: Hryck/Creative Commons)

Leave a comment